Braham Area Schools / Curriculum


An academic standard is a summary description of student learning in a content area. Academic standards encompass one or more supporting benchmarks. A benchmark supplements the standard and is the specific knowledge or skill that a student must master to complete part of an academic standard by the end of a grade level. Academic standards are not curriculum. Curriculum are the resources, assessments, learning experiences and plans that educators use at the local level to instruct students on the content of the academic standards. Under Minn. Stat. 120B.021, subd. 2(b), Minnesota academic standards do not require a specific curriculum.  

Curriculum answers four basic questions:

1. What do we want students to learn? [In Minnesota these are called standards]
2. When do we want students to learn it?
3. What activities/lessons will we use to teach it?
4. How do we know if students have learned it?

All public schools in Minnesota have the same standards for the following subjects:

  • English Language Arts
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Social Studies
  • Physical Education
  • Arts

These standards were developed by the Minnesota Department of Education and are reviewed on a regular cycle.  You can view the state approved standards at the Minnesota Department of Education website:

The state allows districts to develop or adopt their own standards in:

  • Health
  • Career and Technical Education
  • World Languages

Braham Area Schools revises curriculum on an annual basis which can be viewed by viewing the district’s most current World's Best Workforce Plan.  Access the plan by clicking on the link or by visiting the Workforce site located on the school website under the DISTRICT tab.


Important Documents: